Weekend Madness

Ready to Roll

So there I was, after a busy week finishing some lovely bits and pieces for this market and fitting everything else in as well, all ready to sell my heart out, and do you think people were there to shop? Not a hope. People wandered about, made lots of nice comments, admired things and asked questions, but it was almost impossible for them to get their money out! I made the cost of the stall and a tiny bit extra, and that was that. Still, now I am all ready for the next opportunity, and I felt as if I stood up quite nicely next to the rest of the stalls. This was a market that was cancelled after the large aftershock in February, so maybe people are just hanging on and trying to pretend everything is normal!

Sunday made up for it by being an amazingly mild day for the middle of winter, so we braved the dreadful state of our roads and the possible horrors of broken houses on the way, and took a drive to one of our lovely beaches for a walk in the sun. If you don’t look closely enough to see the red stickers on the condemned holiday baches, everything looked reassuringly normal, and we just hung out and absorbed the sun, the smell of the salty sea, and the general feel-goodness of the day. And felt lucky!

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend Madness

  1. Pointypix says:

    Just found you thanks to the liberate your art project – I got one of your postcards over here in Northern Ireland – it’s beautiful! It’s so funny to hear your take on your stall experience – I had my first a couple of weeks ago and it was pretty much exactly as you described – lots of interest but very little parting with money!!

Leave a Reply

