Numbers 5 & 6

Over halfway there now and still having fun. I am finding making faces a challenge though. I generally work bigger and every little mark makes a difference at this small size! We are at the far end of Summer here in New Zealand and the gardens are full of colour. Mine has become a bit tired, there are water restrictions following the ongoing earthquakes here in Canterbury, while there are so many damaged pipes and various upgrades and repairs going on. If I forget to water on my allocated days things get a bit parched and my plants look a bit the worse for wear. However, there are no such hindrances when it comes to imagination and making pictures!

No5

Here's a summer spirit walking in an imagined garden

This was fun, and she really needed a crown. I thought about cutting something out but then my eye fell on a small bottle of PVA with a spout, and I remembered making printing blocks with PVA on cardboard when the children were at school and decided to try using the 3D-ness of that. I rubbed some gold onto the results, and voila! Quite successful I thought, something to be used again.

No 6

Walking on the beach the other day, I watched a family of swallows swooping and diving over the sand. As I sat and watched one swept past me, almost touching my head and calling as it flew.

I love the beach, it is a great place to gather myself together and blow away the cobwebs of day to day life. Lots of ideas come to me, troubles clear, and my mind gets full of the sky and the waves. I wonder what this little bird would say if I could understand her, something joyful as she swooped and soared I think!

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

