Equinox Doll Swap

I have started work on a doll for the vernal equinox, which is going out in the world on the 1st of March. This is from the Millande  art community for women artists- which is a fantastic group. Heaps going on. http://milliande.ning.com/group/thebelleoftheball/forum/topics/equinox-doll-swap This is open until the 15th Feb so there is still time!

I have made a start by creating a copper wire frame covered with batting, and taking up apiece of polymer clay to make hands, feet, and a face. This is an ‘organic’ process as I haven’t a pattern, but I have lots of ideas and it doesn’t need to be child-safe. I do, however, have to think about bio-controls since it will be travelling overseas, so no plant or animal bits and pieces can be used.

So, here’s the initial stage.

 She started out with me trying to make a young face for the Spring Equinox, since mostly Northern hemisphere people are involved, but she really didn’t want to be that, and after several goes I relinquished control and she has emerged in her joyousness!  Let’s see how she develops.

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

