It’s Snowing

I woke up this morning to find the wild weather last night had turned to great, soft flakes of snow falling from the sky. So beautiful, and again, I feel the delight of a small child as I rush out and try to catch a flake on my tongue! The morning has progressed and everything is gradually disappearing under a coat of pristine white, sound muffled, people and animals all snuggling down for the duration.

I love it, a magical transformation, the ordinary made new and surprising. The discomfort of the cold and the inconvenience of slippery surfaces are completely ignored for the delight of making snowmen and being sent home from work and school to avoid the dangers of snowy roads. We are lucky here that snow only lasts a few days as a rule so we can enjoy the novelty.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now on to the pleasures of winter; comfort food, thick soup, baking in the oven, wrapping up in warm clothes that aren’t often used, lighting a fire for its warmth and its beauty, time for stories and reading and pleasure in each other’s company. Time to enjoy not being able to do the things that demand your attention usually. A sort of ‘ahhh’ time when the usual becomes undoable, and you can catch your breath, look around and just ‘be’ for a while.

It’s the best!

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in transformation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Snowing

  1. Shannon says:

    There is something so beautiful about how snow falls breifly seem to stop the world in its tracks. I will have to live vicariously through your photos Jo. Even if they make me a little sad with homesickness- I’m very happy you posted these 🙂

  2. Pingback: Number 2 of Kat Sloma’s Swap | joslittlepictures

Leave a Reply

