No Need for Digital Entertainment Here

It is so cold with all the snow we had a couple of days ago, but so beautiful. I couldn’t stay inside yesterday but took my life into my own hands and set out to enjoy the magical scene. I discovered that it really was better to tromp through the snow rather than tip-toeing across the bare patches when my feet slid out from under me and over I went! Exciting, in a not so happy way, but no harm done.

There is something thrilling about snow, it covers up so many messinesses in the surroundings. It looks so clean as it sparkles in the sun. Something within me sings as I walk through it, face and hands glowing, teeth cold as I grin, and eyes full of the beauty of the day. Everything takes on a different appearance and wakes me up from my winter heater hugging ways.

I am not the only one who has been shaken out of their winter cocoons, I find that there is scattered population of snowmen which must have been built while the snow fell yesterday – it is frozen over now and won’t be shaped into anything. I like to think that there were children out in the snow, enjoying building these jolly creatures, as children have for ever. Something that involves connection with their environment, building with their hands, laughter and exuberance as the cold bites and you simply can’t stand still. And something you do with others, on display, sharing the fun. Precious moments of you, others, and the outside world. Simple pleasures.

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

