Postcards 3 & 4 -Dreams

We all have dreams, many and varied, serious and playful. Here are a couple that appeared as I was making these cards.

Firstly the serious one: The Free-range Hens Issue.

I do eat eggs, they are delicious, nutritious and usually quick and easy. I have wriggly childhood memories of collecting eggs from various relatives’ hen houses. I loved the dim, warm, secrecy of straw lined nest boxes and the clucky, crooning hens snuggled down in them. Finding an egg all warm and smooth and collecting it for the pleasure of the meal to come and feeling part of the whole process, and a certain thankful wonder that someone laid this for me. (such vanity!).

I kept a few hens when we first moved to the house we live in now. I still loved all those things, and their excitement when they got all the edible garden weeds, scraps, and grain. I loved their fussy scratching and pecking, all their petticoats up in the air. However,  I found I am hopeless at animal husbandry. I can’t bear the idea of dispatching a hen when it is too sick to help, I was devastated when all the chickens I was given grew up to be 6 feisty roosters. I still see the man who took them off our hands, smiling unconvincingly as he said he was going to let them live in his pine tree fence-line and not go to his cooking pot. I let the remaining hens live out their life spans, and the last one spent her last few months loose in the garden, with our puzzled old dog sidling past her as she scruffled through our vege patch.

So, I want to do my best to buy eggs that are free-range. From hens that have a semblance of what makes a hen’s life worth living. I think that is the least we can do. I know that is not perfect, but if enough people do this at least there will be changes for some of our poor, mistreated, fellow creatures who live on this earth.

The Second is a piece of Fairytale Fantasy

A piece of stagey mermaidy-ness. An excuse for lots of pearly, shiny pens and gold details. It was a piece of pure enjoyment – and that is important in each of our lives. We waste the precious gift of our life if we don’t take pleasure in it as well as tending to the more weighty matters that exist. I am an equal opportunity creator, dealing with the hard things, AND the fun frivolous  stuff.

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in postcard swaps and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Postcards 3 & 4 -Dreams

  1. Dee Ryder says:

    Hello there Jo, I wasn’t sure how to get in touch with you so when I found your posting with the Post Card you made for me I thought this is as good-a-place as any to tell you… Thank you so much for the wonderful Mermaid Post Card. How did you know I collect Mermaids. Only very special unique ones and this one fits the bill to a Tee, Tea, T or t.. any and all will do 🙂 !!! I so enjoyed this SWAP, it was my first (of many I hope) and it really made me stretch in my thoughts and ideas Imagining how to make so many different ones and get them out on time ?? But I made the deadline by 2 days. Thanks again Jo for your lovely energy that sailed across the seas to me here in Florida. Take Good Care… ~Dee

Leave a Reply

