Numbers 9 & 10 – Shannon’s Swap

Phew! Here they are, and they are both a bit about the sea which plays a big part in my life.

Number 9 – Home Sweet Home

This little house is a typical old wooden home with a verandah at the front and some wooden filigree adorning the eaves. There are still quite a number of similar houses about, some tenderly cared for and others in a state of interesting dissolution! The old wooden houses in Christchurch have survived the earthquakes of late rather well. It used to be that brick and tile was a much more desirable choice, but these old wooden places have come into their own.

For me, having always lived in wood while in New Zealand, they are home. The creaks as they house expands and contracts part of their charm, and the warmth and softness of the surfaces under my hand familiar and comforting. So a house like this, by the sea is my idea of a wonderful place to be, a retreat that would embrace me as I enter, and call me back when I leave.

Number 10- Choiiieeece!

Here are three of our seagulls taking an admiring look at something on an un-naturally yellow sandy shore (our sands are varying shades of black here, so called iron sands.).

‘Choicee’ is an expression of appreciation, or agreement, in NZ-speak. It is announced with a bit of a drawl in appreciation, drawn out and savoured. In agreement more clipped with a bit of an emphasis on the ‘c’. It’s one of the things I pick out amongst people’s conversations in the street as typically ‘home’ although not something I use myself. It always makes me grin, it is so juicy and lingered over when appreciative! A fitting way to finish this set.

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in postcard swaps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

