Day Two – How I Shifted the Grey Day Glums

Sometimes you can have one grey day too many, especially during the winter. A nothing day, 5pm all day. Today was such a day.

I was going to exercise before going to my image processing work, but moved too slowly and ran out of time. Then I got cold sitting at the computer in a windowless room for five hours doing repetitive work on images that hold little interest for me. By the time I got home my brain was heavy in my skull and feeling dull and gloomy. I had other things that needed doing on my own computer and little enthusiasm to muster up for them. Even a hot drink and a piece of toast didn’t help much. All in all thoroughly feed up and succumbing to the winter glums.

Sitting down and facing my screen I decided to pay a visit to some of the blogs on the Ultimate Blog Challenge to start with one of my enjoyable tasks. So many to choose from, so little time. http://www.gypsystreasures.com/ looked cheerful and low and behold, she was blogging about bubbles! Now, I love bubbles. I have a bottle of bubbles and beautiful wand on a shelf in the kitchen, and during the summer I often take a twirl in the garden and watch their beautiful iridescence against the blue sky. Why not be more playful right now?

I have been learning how the mind affects your body, and also how the actions your body makes affect your mind. Fake it till you make it! So, feeling tight and sluggish, I poured some bubble mixture into a lovely cup (one of the few that survived our earthquakes last year) and took myself, wand in hand, out into the chilly garden. This wand works best if you wave it through the air so I had no option but to move.

Twirling in the garden, surrounded by streams of beautiful bubbles floating off into the sky, I suddenly felt a lot better. Laughter sprang up out of the depths, colours got brighter, and the cold air swept away the cobwebs in my brain. Wonderful.

I decided to ditch the indoors jobs for the moment and get into the vege garden to plant the garlic and shallots that were waiting for attention instead. I obviously needed to move about more.  I shed my fancy red boots for my gummies. Half an hour of digging and my blood is rushing through my veins and I feel so much more alive. Grubbing in the earth is always therapeutic. Several rows of garlic and shallots all tucked in ready to grow and covered in a layer of pea straw, potential waiting to be realized!

As I straightened up I looked up at the sky, and as a final reward there was a gorgeous sunset. My face was freezing cold, and my eyes full of glory. A marvelous end to what was shaping up to be a blah day. Some inspiration from http://www.gypsystreasures.com/, thankyou, and remembering I need to move around more made all the difference.

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in transformation, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day Two – How I Shifted the Grey Day Glums

  1. Gypsy Rose says:

    Oh how I wish I had seen this months ago! I am so glad my Bubbles post made your day! I realize I am 2 months late, but your post just made my night! ((Hugs)) from Gypsy from http://www.gypsystreasures.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

