10 Things to Do to Beat the Blues – Post number 4

I thought I would share some of the things that work for me when I find myself hunkering down and feeling gloomy. I am actually a very cheerful person most of the time, the winter eventually gets to me, and I know it does, so I have some strategies to help me out. Maybe you have some of your own to share.

1. Posture: Straighten up, draw back your shoulders, lift up your head, plant your feet firmly on the ground.

2. Breathe: Breathe deep, right down into your belly. In through your nose, out through your mouth. Around 10 deep, slow breaths – we are not aiming for hyperventilation here!

3. Smile: Even if you don’t feel like it. Your mind will take a cue from your body. If you can’t muster up a smile, put a pencil/pen between your teeth and walk about a bit, or while you are in your car. This makes you use your smile muscles and fools your brain –  try it!

4. Pull Faces: Roll your eyes, be extreme (don’t scare the children!). Do it in private or with people who will appreciate it – it’ll make you laugh!

5. Laugh: Watch a funny movie, read a funny book, tell a funny joke that usually makes you laugh. Remember a funny or enjoyable event in your life and replay it in great detail in your mind – squeeze every drop of pleasure out of the memory , smile.

6. Bright Colours: Wear something in a bright colour, a detail or all over.

7. Music: Play some music, cheerful, energetic, and uplifting. As loud as you are allowed to!

8. Dance: Get up and move around. Do your ‘happy dance’. (Haven’t got one? make one up!) Jump, wave your arms around, shake, wriggle, and stamp! Be as outrageous as possible. – this makes me collapse in a fit of giggles:)

9. Get Outside:

  •   Go for a brisk walk – even if it’s raining
  • Pull out a few weeds, dig over the earth
  • Hang out the washing – bend and stretch
  • Go to the beach. Walk and breathe deep
  • Feed the ducks, birds, seagulls
  • Collect a souvenir – flowers, shells, a pretty stone, feather, seedpod, leaves – anything that catches your eye. Put it somewhere you can see it and remember your outing.

10. Arrange something to look forward to: Contact a friend and organize something fun to do together a few days ahead. A fun movie, a coffee date, a visit to a museum, gallery,sports event, public garden etc. Look forward to it!

Oh, and of course – blow some bubbles! I can’t believe I had allocated that as a Summer activity – it works fine for me anytime!

 
About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in inspiration, transformation, Ultimate Blog Challenge, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 10 Things to Do to Beat the Blues – Post number 4

  1. Fun post, Jo!

    I tend to hibernate a lot because I’m introverted, but when I’m blue, I REALLY go into isolation mode. These are good tips and I really LOVE blowing bubbles — any time of the year!

    Thanks.
    Cathy

  2. Monick Halm says:

    Such a cute post! Just reading it made me happy. 🙂

  3. hikkiblogger says:

    Reblogged this on healthwellbeingblog and commented:
    In the winter I paint

  4. Thanks for your comments everyone. I’m glad you caught the joy germ here! Being an introvert has its challenges, and I am glad I can make stuff when I’m removed from the world – stops me from brooding.

Leave a Reply

