Practice, practice, practice!

I am running behind a post, life interfered yesterday, so I am sharing this post from my original joslittlepictures blog. It is still relevant , I still have difficulty taking risks. I am never sure exactly which risks I should be taking! Anyhow this is one of my little pictures from a self imposed challenge to make a picture every day for as long as I could sustain it.
Letting Go
Flying through the air on a trapeze, high above the crowd looks scary enough, but the crowd doesn’t gasp with amazement until the artist lets go and take the risk of mis-timing their manoeuvre and falling into the net below! Hours of practise is required before a public performance is made, hours of wearing old clothes and making mistakes, false starts, and a collection of bruises. Right up to the moment of launching yourself into the air in your gorgeous costumes, and letting go before twisting and catching the other trapeze in front of the oohing audience, you really aren’t sure if you will be successful. Risk taking…. I need more practise I think!
About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in art, colour, risk taking, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Practice, practice, practice!

  1. monickhalm says:

    I love this. I’m literally launching a class tomorrow and I can TOTALLY relate to this. Perfect!

  2. Great post! Risk taking is so valuable and so difficult all at the same time. The practice, at times can be overwhelming. The upside is the more we do, the easier it gets, so we can be ready for that big performance.

Leave a Reply

