What is Your Learning Style?

I really enjoy learning new stuff. We all do this differently, but this is how I do it.

I tend to gather lots of information. I talk to people, read what I can lay my hands on, scribble on sheets of paper, get materials and any new tools required, and then give it a go. Sometimes it is a real wrestling match. One thing that really helps me is to find someone to show me how they do it, and sometimes Youtube is the answer.

I have to battle my way through frustration, irritation at my lack of skill, and uncertainty about my ability to get it right. All the information swirls about and feels confusing and cross making. Eventually I have an epiphany. I can almost feel all those neural pathways joining up and synapses sparking. It’s the best sensation in the world – the lights go on and there’s an ‘AHA’ moment.  Perseverance is the key, and I have learned to trust my process and keep going until, magically things fall into place. Patterns emerge, order from the chaos, and beauty emerges before my eyes.

It really is helpful to look at other’s work, in the flesh, in books, or online. It is both confirming to see how my own work stands up against others’, and salutary to see how much further there is to go! This process works in every area of my life, (except maths where the damage was done and I just cannot get to grips with the concepts). I truly believe that given the right information and approximately the right tools and materials, we can do almost anything!

The danger in life is standing still and becoming rigid and fixed in our ideas. There is so much to learn, enjoy, and create, and life too short to waste any time. Persevering and breaking through our own limitations is rewarding, hugely energizing, and inspiring to those around us.

Keeping a working notebook helps keep track of my thought processes.

So, how do you do it?

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in art, inspiration, jewellery, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

