Summer & Coffee

Postcards 7 and 8 have arrived, halfway around the world and into a completely different season! The first is from Jeanne from Minnesota bringing with it the glory of the ocean in a heatwave. I love the sea, and try to get my feet into it, or at least into the sand, most weeks. Most weeks there are people out on their surfboards, even a few hardy souls in the depths of winter. It is always enlivening walking in the salty air, always different from the time before, and always a pleasure. At the moment we have silvery water and washed silk skies, grey ironsands beneath my feet and silvery grey and white gulls in the air. No wind today and the sea is flat, everything feels still and calm. Beautiful.

Image

Which brings me to to  the next postcard, Coffee!

Most weekends we walk at Brighton beach, along the beach, under the pier, and into one of our favourite coffee shop. I love a great cup of coffee and they always have a great brew. They also have the best view, almost on the sand if you sit at an outside table. There is a restaurant upstairs but we prefer the casual, seaside feel downstairs. A great coffee, a bit of a chat, and then back to the car along the tops of the sand dunes. A perfect way to spend a weekend morning!

So now to the postcard.

Image

All the way from Seattle, which is apparently the coffee capital! Perhaps Starbucks started there…..

This came from Helen McConkey (Hope I read that right). Love the coffee colour scheme to match the theme!

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in beach, colour, Outside, postcard swaps, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer & Coffee

  1. Cheri says:

    Oh, a postcard swap sounds like lots of fun, and you got some nice ones! And, yep, Starbucks is from Seattle.

  2. Thanks for dropping by. I thought there must have been a connection I wasn’t aware of! Starbucks is everywhere these days.

  3. LifeOfBun says:

    Ahh.. I’m jealous about the fact that you live so close to the see. I’d love to just go dip my feet in the water, maybe snorkle and look at some fish haha. Sounds amazing..

Leave a Reply

