Lo – Tech Entertainment

Kite Flying
This is another of those lovely, windy, outdoorsy things that are fun to do! Once you launch your little construction of paper, string, and sticks up into the wind it becomes a twisting, tugging live thing on the end of your string. It’s a kind of magic transformation, filled with possibilities and breathless laughter. Here is this construction, which is definitely heavier than air, riding above you on invisible wind, and for all intents and purposes, seems to be making a good attempt at lifting you off your feet and up into the sky behind it! Such a joyful sensation. A low-tech, energy friendly, simple delight.
http://www.skratch-pad.com/kites/make.html  a simple kite to make. I have very fond memories of my grandfather making a kite with me when I went and stayed for a few days. He then took me down to the beach and we spent the rest of the day flying it. He seemed so old at nearly 70, but he enjoyed my pleasure and taught me you can make your own fun with a few sticks, newspaper and a ball of string. The magic has never left me!
About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in beach, Make something, memories, Outside, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lo – Tech Entertainment

  1. I miss the simple days of entertaining myself as a child. I always loved flying kites! Your post took me back to our little house in Newnan, Georgia and me out on the porch with my new kite! I can even smell it. Funny how thoughts can bring back smells… and of a kite of all things! LOL, but I can smell the soft wood and plastic. Those pieces of wood had a saw dust kind of smell to them. They were so much fun. Thanks for the memory lane trip! 🙂

  2. LifeOfBun says:

    Ohh that’s been such a long time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

