‘What’s on my Workbench Wednesday?’ Travelling

This Wednesday mywork bench was the dashboard of my car as I drove back from Nelson, so I will post some photos of myjourney behind the wheel.

It has been a great couple of days, lovely spring weather, amazing flowetrees magnolias, the scent of flowering prunus trees, birdsong and the warmth of the sun on our backs as we walked around the city.

The drive back took around 6 hours by the time I stopped for pictures and coffee, and a bite to eat. Gorgeous day, good traffic conditions, and lots of new little lambs and calves. I drove past a paddock with a group of calves all dressed in little blankets. If it wasn’t for the fact they are away from their mothers so soon after birth, it looked very cute.

It is a real emotional dilemma rejoicing in new lives enjoying the sunshine in beautiful green fields, and knowing that their fate will not be a happy one. I work hard to stay in the moment, also knowing that no-one relishes the thought of leaving this life and that every good moment we experience should be treasured, enjoyed with a sense of gratitude for our particular place in things.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So gratitude, and as much joy in the now as can be mustered as I drive along in this beautiful Spring day, in this lovely country of ours. I hope you enjoy my pictures, a small selection of possible snapshots.

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in Outside, places to visit, travelling, What's on Your Workbench Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ‘What’s on my Workbench Wednesday?’ Travelling

  1. Lovely photos Jo! Thanks for sharing. I love road trips… and stopping to take pictures.

  2. We live in a little corner of paradise don’t we?

    And I know what you mean about the sight of all those lambs and calves. As I drive from Feilding to Palmerston North each day, I rejoice at the sight of them and then consider becoming a vegetarian.

  3. We are so Lucky to live here, and life is remarkably simple when what we worry about is what/who we eat…. And yet that is where I find myself!

  4. michelle gd says:

    road trips can be so fun! wonderful to have a little peek inside yours…

  5. Candace says:

    How lovely! I have that same sad feeling seeing animals that are born for the purpose of food. I’m a vegetarian because of that.

Leave a Reply

