Here’s Postcard Number 3

Here is the 3rd postcard in this swap, from Molly Dwyer, a lovely watercolour of the North Shore of Long Island. It is a peaceful picture, I think. You can see more of her work here at www.sasifricious.blogspot.com

I have a couple of places I like to visit that are a bit like this. If you drive for a couple of hours there is a quaint, French inspired place called ‘Akaroa’ which we visit as a treat. It was first settled by the French, before they realized the English beat them to it. Of course this is also forgetting that Maori already lived and occupied the land here before them – hence the maori name, ‘Akaroa’!

Perhaps despite all that, and some bloody early history, it is a picturesque harbour with Hectors Dolphins who visit, and the very occasional pod of Orca, and various trips can be taken by various boats to enjoy the scene. The settlement itself is pretty with a number of old (for us, anyhow) buildings and lots of French names, and good cafes and restaurants to enjoy along with the scenery!

Enough to say that Molly’s beautiful postcard reminded me of my own pretty harbour place that I love to visit! Thankyou Molly 🙂

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in inspiration, Outside, places to visit, postcard swaps, travelling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

