Postcard Number Five, A Beautiful Rose

The arrival of my fifth postcard heralds the end of this great swap – well almost as Kat’s card will arrive anytime soon. It has been fun watching and waiting for proper mail in amongst the bills and advertising, and seeing what everyone is posting on the facebook event too. So many beautiful, inspirational, and funny cards. It is good to know there are so many creative souls out there in the world who, just like me, beaver away in their corner making stuff because they love it!

This gorgeous rose came from Deanie from Phoenix, thankyou so much.I can’t find a blog to link this to, but I hope you can find me 🙂

I can almost smell the perfume a rose this pink really should have! My father has roses growing on their fence which I walk past every time I visit, and I love being enveloped in their sweet breath as I approach their house. It has become the smell I associate with their hugs and pleasure to see me.

My grandmother used to grow roses in her garden too. I particularly remember one I think was called ‘superstar’. It had beautiful buds in an orangey pink that was exactly the colour lipstick my mother was wearing in those days, so it made a great impression on me. I have a couple growing at this house we are living in. One a rampant, rambling climber that has invaded the neighbour’s tree and pours over their side of the fence, called ‘wedding day’. It has bunches of single yellowy flowers with lots of stamens and a gorgeous, light perfume, flowers once at length, and the bees adore it. Me too.

The other one is called ‘peace’ and sits by the entrance, pink and fragrant. It gets more apricot as the season goes by and I like to think it encourages a measure of peacefulness as people have to walk by to get to our front door. A kind of sympathetic magic!

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in colour, family, flowers, garden, postcard swaps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Postcard Number Five, A Beautiful Rose

  1. Nice post Jo… nice glimpse into your corner of the world. Thank You 🙂

  2. Pingback: Postcard Number Five, A Beautiful Rose | Garden Roses | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

