‘What’s on my Workbench?’ Wednesday – Unpacking Stuff

My own workbench is standing alone and neglected this week. I am helping unpack my parents’  worldly goods as they return to their repaired and repainted home. They have been living out of suitcases for 8 weeks or so, and are eager to get back to the business of living their lives in their own surroundings once more.

It is a mission unwrapping. Not only are the things you think about, the treasures and useful daily pots, pans and china, but also the contents of the cupboards that you cook with. Bottles, tins, and jars will all sorts of contents – some of which are unidentifiable and mysterious, bearing labels that date back quite a while longer than they should! Odd remains of powders and dried fruits, things that look dubious but, I am assured, they are for curing meat. (When was the last time she even did that?).

All these things have to be unwrapped, identified, and given resting places in the cupboards. It is a long job, and will be on-going for a few weeks ahead. We have cleared the kitchen and made access in and out of the house clear so the rest will be spread over time as it is not quite so pressing.

My favourite part in this is going through all the things stored in the hot water cupboard. Embroidered mats for tea trays and dressing tables, table napkins with lace work, appliques and openwork. Table cloths that come out on special occasions, or which have never seen the light of day but are treasured. All sorts of pretty things that the ladies that have gone before us created for their homes, or as gifts. It is a colourful trip back into different times when hand sewing ruled and your ability to sew a fine seam was prized.

After 2 days with my head in these boxes I have taken a break to sit at the sea and stretch my eyes along the horizon. The tide is in and there is sunshine following the stormy weather we have experienced overnight. Fresh, clean air with the local birds out in their spring finery, diving for fish as the tide turns.

Life just keeps on going, regardless of our dramas, personal or cosmic. I need to be reminded of my small part in all this and the sea is the place for me to catch up with myself. Small under the sky and on the edge of the ocean, large in the eye of the birds nearby. Just me, in this body that gets me about and this mind that is so busy with itself. Me and the wind, the sea, and the sun on my face…. ahhh

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in beach, family, life, memories, What's on Your Workbench Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘What’s on my Workbench?’ Wednesday – Unpacking Stuff

  1. Hi Jo – I recognise where you are! That’s where I spent my childhood. My dad had a drapery shop in Wakefield Ave, and for a while we lived above it – the shop later became The Ruptured Duck and upstairs became a restaurant. It was a brick building so I guess it’s no longer there.

    I bet there were loads of memories triggered as you unpacked.

  2. Hi Wendy
    Sadly the Ruptured Duck was one of the buildings that is no longer. The Hollywood Theatre is still standing though. Yes, lots of memories, some things from my grand mothers’ kitchens and cupboards, and various elderly cousins and aunts. A real nostalgia event with stories from mum’s memories too.
    Thanks for dropping by:)

Leave a Reply

