‘What’s on my Workbench?’ Wednesday – a clear space.

By the time you are reading this we will be winging our way across the ditch to visit our youngest in his new life in Perth. I am so looking forward to seeing them both and being able to give them both a big hug. It will be a lovely escape, and a chance for new inspiration, new scenery, and warmer temperatures.

In preparation, I have cleared up my workbench (don’t laugh, that IS clear as far as I am concerned!), so I can return to a fresh space for those fresh ideas that I hope to collect.

workbench

I am trying to decide which art supplies to limit myself to, always a challenge. I get carsick if I read, so I can’t draw or write either in transit. I don’t want to miss any chance I get to scribble a bit, and hopefully capture some colour impressions. I think a sketch book, a couple of 2Bs, and maybe my watercolour box, should suffice, especially if I take my camera. But am tempted to pack more….

My sketchbooks are invaluable resources. They probably don’t look much to someone else, but I can recall a whole lot of stuff when I look at a visual note, and I often use them as jumping off points for new pieces of jewellery. For example, the following is from an afternoon spent by the sea looking at shapes against the sky, and an earlier trip down south where the trees stood out, all dark against the sky.

tree silhouettes

There are blossoms all around at the moment and I am exploring making little sprigs that can be worn. I am trying to work out whether to suspend the twig, or make a dainty(!) pin on the back. I tend to make quite chunky things usually, and work everything out on paper first, but both these pieces are changing as I make them. This is a new way of maintaining the excitement of an evolving idea for me.

blossom

So, works in progress, and a clear space to return to in a couple of weeks time. See you then – what will you be working on over the next few weeks?

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in creativity, flowers, inspiration, jewellery, travelling, What's on Your Workbench Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘What’s on my Workbench?’ Wednesday – a clear space.

  1. oooouuu.. can’t wait to see your progress on these Jo! Enjoy your trip, and share some photos with us when you get back 🙂
    I am working on some articles for my examiner.com page. I just turned in two submissions for a book. Won’t find out for a couple of months if they have been accepted.
    Also… a fabric collection to submit to a magazine, a map and a recipe for TDAT and TDAC.

    Have an amazing, and safe trip!
    God Bless!
    Sheila

Leave a Reply

