‘What’s on my Workbench?’ Wednesday – New Stuff!

Refreshed by our trip, recovered from the time differences AND daylight saving adjustments, and rearing to go!

Suddenly Christmas seems far too close – I should know this happens by now – but I am still lulled into a false sense of Christmas being ‘way over there’, and there being plenty of time. I was outraged when I passed a Christmas tree all decked out in September in a shopping Mall, and now it seems I should have rallied and taken notice!

A sweet group of earring studs

All this to say  am feeling a sudden urgency and need to get on with producing some things with the approaching festivities in mind. I made a set of studs for my daughter and, inspired by my tardy arrival of new metal, I have been putting together some designs to make the best use of some of those annoying little offcuts from bigger pieces. Silver is so expensive these days that I just can’t afford to waste a bit!

Little Stud Earrings in Sterling Silver

New Materials too! After a protracted wait for the order to arrive, and a customs fee to pay, my long awaited package has arrived. It is very exciting. I have a piece of titanium sheet to try out and see if I want to include it in my jewellery. I know I can make some gorgeous colours with heat, but I have no idea how hard it will be on my tools, and exactly what effects there will be at my finger tips that I can add to my ‘vocabulary’.

Time for Play!

Play times ahead. My favourite time, and always so fruitful. There is much cross-pollination between the things I enjoy doing and thinking about, so I can’t wait to see what emerges.

I have also been trying to get something exciting to happen with a couple of silver-clay pieces that I made from previously etched pieces. They were looking a bit wimpy and I wanted some good contrast, or something.

Whilst looking around for some more information about mixed metals I found an idea using the annoying event that occurs if you put anything ferrous in your pickle with your silver piece. All you sharers of the pickle pot know all about this – your lovely silver piece turns pink with a tricky layer of copper which can be the devil’s own to clean off again!

Come up and see my etchings!

So, what if I do this on purpose and all the indented areas are left with a nice copper fill as I clean off the surface? And, what if darken said copper with heat, and see how that looks? Pretty interesting…. I can see a few more happy hours ‘mucking about’, ahead of me.

This has potential

So, what is everybody else up too? Any further ideas of where this could lead to?

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in art, colour, creativity, inspiration, jewellery, Make something, transformation, What's on Your Workbench Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

