‘What’s On My Workbench?’ Wednesday – Busy, Busy, Busy

Life has a way of suddenly taking off at this time of the year, and I have got a bit behind in some things. Nothing new there, I guess. Actually it would be worrying in suddenly there was nothing to do!

Pendants ready for the next step

Can you guess which Christmas song these are referencing?
Days 1, 2, 3, and 4.

I have been working on these designs for some Christmassy themed pendants – you guessed it, from ‘The Twelve Days of Christmas’. At this point that is probably where this will stop as I really think squeezing ’12 Lords a Leaping’ onto a piece would have to be more than a literal design and I am slightly appalled at the idea! ‘5 Gold Rings’ is a more attractive idea, but it would have to be copper and silver and I am not convinced yet – maybe I will let that simmer on the back-burner in my brain while I concentrate on setting the stones.

Here are the pieces all patinated to show off the textures I have used and the stones sitting nicely in situ for me to work on today, first thing while I am fresh. Best not muck things up at the end of the day!

Stones in situ and ready to go.

All lined up, polished, patinated, and waiting for their final touches.

What will I be up to this week? More work to get my photos interesting, sized and uploaded to my wee shop, the garden is crying out for a big tidy up and planting things in the vege patch, and flowers in the front, and all sorts of plans afoot for a lovely family Christmas this year.

I have to say, while it is lovely being able to enjoy an outdoorsy Christmas at the start of summer, there are a lot of things going on for us on top of that. The school year ends in December with rounds of school performances, ceremonies, and sports days; our gardens are all bonkers wild with growth of everything – so there is a lot of hayfever about too; people are trying to get away for their annual holidays, camping, beaching, tramping etc; AND all that Christmas shopping and cooking. Phew!

I’ll try and keep up – not promising anything, but I will try. See you next time

Jo

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in art, creativity, inspiration, jewellery, Make something, What's on Your Workbench Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘What’s On My Workbench?’ Wednesday – Busy, Busy, Busy

Leave a Reply

