“What’s on my Workbench?” Wednesday – Picking up the Pace

Lots of activity today, following a few days of being decidedly off colour. Obviously it was time for a break as I could barely manage to drag myself around. Yesterday I gave up and finished Margaret Attwood’s ‘Robber Bride’. Fantastic read, I prefer this part of her writing to her Science Fiction stuff, which I find a bit bleak. Probably too close to the bone for me!

Anyhow, faced with the eclipse to keep an eye on and some necessary work in the workshop I managed to cover a bit today. It is sunny but cold, and I have some of my energy back so it has been pleasing. I have been meaning to make some little rings for a while and today was the perfect day to have a play around. I find rings a bit of a mission because I never know what size to aim for. My own fingers are fairly big so if I make them for me, most people want smaller ones! Once I had a group of Japanese girls want some little ones for them, but no-one else has such dainty fingers in my circles, and they are still with me!

All that to say, these are adjustable, to a degree anyhow. So hopefully there will be some smiling purchasers! They are cute, and the flowers will go with the little earrings I made a few weeks ago. So, voila!

Sweet silver rings

Sweet little rings for pretty fingers

Close up of the flower rings
Little flowers for your fingers

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in art, flowers, jewellery, What's on Your Workbench Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “What’s on my Workbench?” Wednesday – Picking up the Pace

  1. Very sweet Jo! I like the chiseled look, and the soft finish… or are you going to polish them? I actually like that they are not shiny. It was sunny and cold here too today. Best wishes too you!

    • Thanks Sheila, They will go into the chain polisher, more to work harden them than for the shine really. I like the frosty look too, but it does rub off easily on rings, they get touched such a lot. It is possible to do a ‘depletion guild’ where the fine silver is brought to the surface of the sterling with repeated pickling, but it is better on a brooch or earrings where they don’t get so much rubbing!

      Hope things are going well for you

Leave a Reply

