Catching Up

have been remiss! Summer has been busy with Christmas, New Year, various birthdays, and Easter, and now I find myself entering Autumn with a familiar feeling that it is time to slow down a bit and take time to prepare for the coming winter. With shorter hours of daylight, and the end of daylight saving, there seems to be more time to spend inside and I feel more like writing a few things down!

So, what am I up to, and what have I been doing?

postcards-for-KatRight now I am participating in The Liberate your Art postcard swap and awaiting some lovely cards to make it to my letterbox. This year I worked out that Vista Print’s notecards are the same size as their postcards, you can print on both sides, and they come in a minimum of 10 cards, instead of the 100 I had to order last time. This is great for me, I ordered 5 different sets and I am very happy with them. I have included a couple of photos from our summer excursions as well as a picture of a piece of my jewellery amongst them and am not overwhelmed with piles of postcards that need a home!

rose-wrearh-frontI am also making brooches for an etsy group where I get to post a brooch every week, and take a look at what other artists are making as well. I am enjoying the challenge of front-72keeping up with that, and am a couple behind at the moment. Sometimes life just takes over and I have to accept that! A couple to see here…

There are lots of things happening at the Silver Smiths’ Group I belong to as well. I spent a happy day at a workshop yesterday trying out some different ways to add colour to my metal. It was very interesting trying things out, and sharing my explorations with titanium too. There is something magical about watching the colours develop as you play the flame of your torch over the metal. It is so stimulating rubbing shoulders with others who share an interest. You learn a lot, and seagulls-1-frontget to laugh more than you do in your solitary pursuit of your art!

There has been a large harvest of tomatoes this year, as well. An unusually hot, dry summer has meant that ALL of my tomato plants were prodigious! We have eaten tomatoes in every form imaginable and my poor husband is only saved from tomatoes in every possible form of preserving by a lack of space, and a certain lack of commitment to the idea. I have given away HEAPS!

I am also working towards having some jewellery to share at my friend’s exhibition of paintings. Gaby  has been painting some beautiful oils of women in the guise of The Virtues. It is quite a challenge to live up to! We are hoping to be exhibiting at the Two Rivers Gallery  soon, and I really need to focus on the work I have planned over the next couple of weeks. I’ll keep you posted!

So, there we are, a brief catch up, and lots of material to revisit over the next few months. Plenty of other things as well, I guess I really have been busy!

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in art, colour, creativity, garden, inspiration, jewellery, life, painting, postcard swaps and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Catching Up

  1. dana says:

    Jo – I am a lucky recipient of one of your cards! The donkeys are precious. Ironically, my step-daughter is in New Zealand as I type. She has just finished a 3 week clinical at one of the vet clinics and is touring your country. It is all so beautiful – just like your postcard! Love your about you description – I totally follow in the not so good on housework and order, lol. Enjoy the swap and thank you!
    cheers, dana

  2. k8daniel says:

    I received your naturally occurring hearts over in Calgary, Alberta, Canada! Gorgeous! 🙂 Maybe one day I will see those dark iron sands in person… cheers, Kate

    • Thanks Kate, they are pretty impressive sands, but of course I am captivated when I go somewhere the sands are white! I hope you do make it here, travel is so much fun
      Cheers
      Jo

  3. dana says:

    thanks for my piece of your world – I love it! Interesting Kate received my card too!
    cheers, dana

  4. Hi Dana,
    Glad you liked it! Isn’t it great to ‘meet’ each other through our art?
    Cheers
    Jo

  5. Fantastic art has been liberated. You received some beautiful postcards. You create some beautiful jewelry (I peeked over at Magpie’s Nest). Looking forward to next years swap.

    • Thanks for dropping by. I did a wee search and found your colorpoems.wordpress site. Love your photos, so clear. My camera is a bit tired and I am always in a hurry so I struggle with mine!
      Cheers
      Jo

  6. Love the brooches Jo . . . especially the last one. 🙂

  7. Carole says:

    I love the pins! I’m on the other side of the world, and I’m hoping that I get nearly as good a tomato harvest. I’m jealous!

    • It seems so long ago now that winter surrounds me. There are still several bags of frozen half tomatoes in my freezer to remind me how sweet they were straight from the vine, and a few left on the biggest vine for the birds. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

