A New Spring

Spring seems to be making an early arrival this year with the daffodils in my front lawn glowing yellow against the grass this morning. We have had some really mild, sunny days for July, warm sun on my face but still a nip in the air. It is still possible to have a snowfall so complacency must be guarded against, the winter woollies staying close at hand for a while yet.daffodils

Lots of changes here at the moment. We have finally had the repairs and painting done post 2010/2011 Earthquakes here in Christchurch, which means the house is now full of boxes waiting to be unpacked and things put back in their places. There are a few painting jobs that we are doing while the rooms are empty-ish too, window sills, skirting boards, even some fresh paint in one of the bedrooms.

From this

From this

Everything feels a little strange and unfamiliar, a sort of pause before something new happens. A clearing away of old things, reconfiguration of spaces, a fresh perspective as cobwebs are cleared away and corners that have been covered up for a long time are

To this

To this

exposed and cleaned out. There is sadness for the passing of the old and a hopefulness as I turn towards the new.

This next phase is a real opportunity to think about the experiences I can mindfully create. It is really the first time I have had the knowledge that I can create my own life experience. My life started following my father’s postings around the world, and I grew up seeing that the wife’s job was to support the husband and maintain comfort and order in the home for him. You never question how your own family is, as a child you assume that it is the same for everyone, some sort of imperial ‘truth’ with other people’s variations and levels of success at doing a good job.

So I guess that is how I have modeled my own experiences. Husband first, children next, the larger family, whatever social/spiritual groups that you belong too also having their say about how things should be done, and full time work…. With my particular personality and character it has been so easy to disappear amongst all that.

My expression of love for those that make up my life has been to put their needs first, and I have loved being able to do that. Watching everyone come into their own lives and finding their own paths has been a wonderful journey, and continues to be so. I love that they are free to be exactly who they are, knowing that they are loved and that they can talk about anything without fear of being found wanting by me.

Now I think it is time for my own journey to take a more forward place. Time for filling the next decade with great experiences. Looking for somewhere to live with the things that delight me, where I don’t need to squeeze things into the spaces around other people’s lives, means I can take time to work out what is important to me. It is a novel experience, and I am looking forward to some surprises!

My colours were a surprise to some!

My colours were a surprise to some!

There may be a few surprises for those around me too.

Colour for my Inner Child

Colour for my Inner Child

I wonder how others approach their lives as they go through different stages. What inspires them and colours their choices.

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in choices, colour, creativity, family, flowers, grandmother, inspiration, life, memories, risk taking, transformation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Spring

  1. Jo I have been thinking about you. We heard about all the flooding and rains. Looks lik it is not in your area, and I am glad for that. I love the colors in your office. I work late at night usually, and boy those colors would help to keep me awake! Very pretty combination. I am glad your home is getting back to… normal. It has been along time I know. Thanks for sharing your journey with us so openly. Here is to the next leg of your journey!

    Blessings to you Jo 🙂

    • Hi Sheila, … and now high winds. It really looks as if our poor earth is ramping up the weather we are experiencing. 120Km winds is not quite what we normally expect here. Gladly our enormous old tree out the front is only just breaking into bud and we didn’t lose any branches.
      Still loving the pink and yellow!

  2. Each time I have moved house the first thing I do is fill it with my favourite music. I imagine it filling from the floor right up to the ceiling. And yes, my tastes in colour have changed however there are some objects that have been everywhere with me. They are like anchors, not weighing me down but holding me steady. All the best in your ‘new’ home Jo!

    • Hi Wendy, I moved a lot as a child so what went with me was my ‘home’, so I know what you mean about anchors. Despite that, if there was a good enough reason I could shed the lot to go on to different things. It’s a strange life, you never know what is around the next corner.

Leave a Reply

