A Wee Break

We often have a bit of a holiday at this time of the year. With the cat away having some time at the vet, the departure of family after staying with us, and all that EQR fixing things up palaver, we were quite in need of a wee break. Steve has also recently retired, and it is our wedding anniversary…. do I need any more reasons?

Mainly it was the absence of our little cat demanding food and attention that led me to diving in and seeking out a spontaneous few nights away. I did a trawl through some websites and found Bookabach, and the delightful Pink Pippi, at Karitane.pinkpippi-bach

We have driven past the Karitane turn-off many times, but have been on the way to Dunedin and not had spare time to explore. It was such a beguiling turn-off, a lovely tidal inlet with birds and the occasional boat reflected in the water. So, I booked that bach, and it was gorgeous! Cute, a woodfire inside, the tide going in and out right at our feet, wide open skies, and magnificent weather. pink-flowers stained-glass

We settled in for a lovely breather, time to catch up with ourselves, walk, cook, eat treat foods, explore the area, and take in lots of beautiful scenery. Three nights of going to sleep with the ocean in our ears, stars above us, birds calling, no traffic noise, and nothing that had to be done.

I woke early on the second morning, and leaving Steve to sleep, watched the sun rise. Dramatic, clouds melting into orange skies, all reflected in the water below. I even managed to get my paints out and have a little play.sunrise-2 sunrise-table

As the day unfolded we had pancakes for breakfast and found our way down to the sleepout to sit in the sun on the deck. incoming-tideSome reading, some idle chat, a bit more with the watercolours. Bliss!

steve

The best thing about having a change of scenery is the way you get to look at things in a fresh light. There is nothing to call your attention away from the looking, and no guilt from all those annoying jobs that are just crying out to be attended to. Pure, unadulterated enjoyment of the things that catch your eye. Food for the soul, the playful part of you that fills you with a sense of ease. No strings attached. More of this, I think!mermaid's-necklace dr-suess

A great wee break, filled with treasures!

fridge-scrabble

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in art, beach, colour, creativity, flowers, life, Outside, painting, places to visit, spring, travelling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

