Treasures Revealed

I have a long history of dreams about secret rooms and abandoned derelict parts of buildings that are somehow mine. They feel very old, and sometimes they have people in historic costume and the furnishings match the period of those clothes. They aren’t surprised to see me, it is as if I have returned from somewhere else to carry on with things that are following their natural course.  Or, in the case of the derelict rooms, there is someone with me showing me the space which I want to restore, but things are too far gone and there is structural damage.

 

I am sure there are lots of insights to be drawn from all this, and I do reflect upon my life when these dreams show up, but I had an unexpected flash of the surprise I feel in these dreams as I was working in an overgrown wee space at the back of the garage in our new house. It is a shady spot, tucked away at the back, with access from a door at the back of the garage. I can just see a table and chairs out there, which would be perfect to take a break from working in my yet to be built studio/workshop. Perfect alone, or perhaps with a couple of people doing a workshop with me….

 

All around the edge there are overgrown hedge plants which were blocking out the light, and pressing in on the space, so I took to them with a pruning saw and a pair of parrot beaked loppers. As an enormous pile of  debris mounted I  began to see sky above me, and some pretty interesting plants in the undergrowth. There was a tamarillo with beautiful red fruit on it and a feijoa doing battle with other more nondescript plants. But best of all a fantastic green cymbidium orchid with not one, but three gorgeous spikes of flowers on it.

 

I had been feeling a bit tight about the small amount of garden here. It is very carefully arranged to make the most of the structure of the space around our strongly structural house, and I was feeling just a bit constrained, given my previous fairly wild approach to gardening. Suddenly there is  a perfect treasure revealed in the overgrown hedging, and I feel the same excitement that  those dreams about hidden places bring me.

 

There is a way ahead. Soil that looks pretty good, lots of plant material breaking down, shady and damp. There are lots of lovely woodland flowers that might do well here: hellebores, violets, perhaps there are some native plants that could fill a space or two. I am so relieved to find a spot that I can build something new into, something that will feed that part of me nothing else does, something that makes me feel like I am coming home.

 

This new house of ours is such a young house, but there will have been plants growing on the land for a very long time, and I can become part of that ongoing story while adding some history to the house. I am reminded of my own brief span in this life, shaking off the tightness around my heart as I start this next part of my journey with a better sense of excitements ahead. A hidden room discovered, and a shared walk into the future.

Treasure revealed

About joslittlepictures

I frequently have trouble trying to decide how to describe myself. Am I an artist who makes jewellery too, or am I a jewellery artist who draws, paints, makes prints,takes photos, makes gardens,plays with book binding,and occasionally working in stone and mosaic? Then there is my delight in words as well. And I love cooking. What I don't do so well is housework, constant order, or keeping to schedules. I make lists, often starting with something I have completed just so I can start by ticking something off!
This entry was posted in creativity, flowers, garden, inspiration, life, memories, new beginnings, Outside, transformation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Treasures Revealed

  1. I love that you shared your dreams. And I love that you remember dreams from long ago. I do to. And I often have dreams of being in a house or building that I am going to live in, but first it needs work. A door is missing, or a wall, or windows. Sometimes I dream of pristine new houses too, but in those I always find something I want to change or paint. ha ha ha Be well Jo, and enjoy 🙂

  2. Thanks Sheila. I think they are a pretty universal kind of dream but I love it when your dream world crosses over into your physical life. I also love that your dream world is unlimited by physics and I get to fly and breathe under water! Wishing you well

Leave a Reply

